Tags

,

From Wikipedia: “A fishwife is a woman who sells fish. In this context, the word wife means woman rather than married woman.This usage stems from Old English wif (woman) and is akin to the German weib, also meaning “woman”. This sense of the word is still used in Modern English in constructions such as midwife and old wives’ tale. Fish women were notoriously loud and foul-mouthed as in the expression, To swear like a fishwife.”

What better name for our book club? We three neighbors, and now friends, have formed a club based on proximity, mutual affection for reading, and most importantly, a love for wine and colorfully candid discussions about our lives. And we manage to get a little book conversation in, too. Smart, down-to-earth women, we curse and laugh and gossip and it’s a damn good time. I cannot take credit for the idea, that’s all Shauna, but I can’t think of a better name for our club. Now we just have to design our club patch and choose a motto.

Seriously, I feel so lucky to have met my fellow fishwives. Speaking of, I’d better get going. It’s Friday night and I’ve got wine and gossip awaiting me just a few doors down!

