Tags

, , , , ,

Warning: This post is fueled by Midol and mimosas. A little cocktail of painkillers for your worst period symptoms.

I don’t know if it’s due to age, our move to Ventura, or the cycle of the moon, but over the past few years a new pattern has evolved within my menstrual cycle. It seems that for every two or three relatively uncomfortable but short and easy monthly visits, I get one hellish hormone fest that involves a lengthy migraine, cramps that feel like my uterus is trying to flee my body, and an unholy misery that leaves me weeping on the couch with a heating pad and a pint of Ben & Jerry’s Cinnamon Buns ice cream – the picture of PMS cliché.

This has been one of those months. Now, I’ve read many articles, blog posts, and diatribes by women trying to fight the stereotypical image of a woman on her period. And I get it. But honestly, at least four times a year it’s true for me.

Am I really the only one?

This past week on Modern Family, the Dunphy women are all on their “monsteral” periods (as little Luke frustratedly blurts out) at the same time, and it’s hilarious. And relatable. I especially loved Alex’s dismay as she realizes she’s poured juice into her bowl of cereal. “This isn’t milk. What’s wrong with me today?! My brain’s not working right!” Yes. Exactly.

